
Spot  abuse and report it

1-866-200-6066

 

South Carolinians
with mental illness and developmental disabilities who live in facilities 
deserve to be free of the crimes of abuse, neglect, and exploitation. 

 If you spot abuse of people with disabilities, report it immediately.

South Carolina
has a new way to handle reports of abuse of people with mental illness and 
developmental disabilities who live in facilities. The South Carolina State Law 
Enforcement Division (SLED) has set up a new statewide toll free number that is 
answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

SLED immediately investigates
when there is reasonable suspicion 
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 
a person living in a facility operated 
by or contracted for operation by the 
Department of Mental Health (DMH) 
or the Department of Disabilities and 
Special Needs (DDSN). SLED refers 
reports of non-criminal problems, such 
as violations of residents’ rights, to the 
state’s Long Term Care Ombudsman, 
the Department of Social Services, or 
the Attorney General’s Medicaid Fraud 
Control Unit for investigation and 
further action.

You could
 help end 

someone’s 
nightmare.
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SLED
investigates or refers to local law enforcement abuse, neglect, or exploitation in a 
residential facility contracted with or operated by DDSN or DMH. 

1-866-200-6066

SC Long Term Care Ombudsman’s Office
investigates other residential facilities, such as private nursing homes and most 
community residential care facilities. 

1-800-868-9095

http://www.state.sc.us/ltgov/aging/Seniors/Ombudsman.htm 

SC Department of Social Services
investigates abuse, neglect, or exploitation of vulnerable adults in private or foster 
homes. Reports should be made to county DSS offices. Suspicions of abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation of a child should also be reported to DSS.

State DSS Adult Protective Services: 803-898-7318

Local phone numbers can be found in the blue pages of phone books or www.state.
sc.us/dss/counties.html

SC Attorney General’s Medicaid Fraud Control Unit
investigates misuse of Medicaid funds, including financial exploitation of       
Medicaid recipients.

1-888-662-4328

In an emergency, call your local law enforcement (911).
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Who investigates abuse, 
neglect, and exploitation?

Any person with actual 
knowledge 
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 
an adult living in a DDSN or DMH 
facility or contract facility must report 
directly to SLED. 

Any person with reason 
to believe 
that abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
has occurred or may occur must also 
report directly to SLED. 

Reports must be made 
within 24 hours or at least by the 
next working day. Failure to report 
is a crime. Professionals can also be 
subject to discipline by their licensing 
boards.

Who must 
report abuse, 
neglect, and 
exploitation?

If you suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation, report immediately.

Spot 
 

abuse and report it

Abuse
includes physical or sexual assault, 
including slapping, pushing, hitting, 
kicking, having sexual contact, or using 
medication as a means of control. It 
also includes psychological abuse such 
as threats, harassment, or other forms 
of intimidating behavior that causes 
serious emotional harm.

Neglect
includes failure to provide adequate 
food, housing,  medicine, or 
supervision.

Exploitation
includes taking advantage of the person 
or mishandling the person’s money.

What are abuse, 
neglect, and 
exploitation?


