Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show Links

Office of the Lieutenant Governor
"Chapter 21"
Division and Advisory Council on Aging

Section 43-21-10. There is created in the Office of the Lieutenant Governor, the Division on Aging. The division must be supported by an Advisory Council on Aging consisting of one member from each of the ten planning and service areas under the Division on Aging and five members from the State at large. The director of the division shall provide statewide notice that nominations may be submitted to the director from which the Lieutenant Governor shall appoint the members of the council, upon the advice and consent of the Senate. The members must be citizens of the State who have an interest in and a knowledge of the problems of an aging population. In making appointments to the council, consideration must be given to assure that the council is composed of appointees who are diverse in age, who are able and disabled, and who are active leaders in organizations and institutions that represent different concerns of older citizens and their families. The chair must be elected by the members of the advisory council from its members for a term of two years and until a successor is elected. Members of the council shall serve without compensation but shall receive mileage and subsistence authorized by law for members of boards, commissions, and committees. The advisory council shall meet at least once each quarter and special meetings may be called at the discretion of the director of the division. Rules and procedures must be adopted by the council for the governance of its operations and activities.

Section 43-21-20. The members of the advisory council shall serve for terms of four years and until their successors are appointed and qualify. The terms of the members expire on June thirtieth and all vacancies must be filled in the manner of the original appointment for the unexpired portion of the term only. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms.

The Lieutenant Governor may terminate a member of the council for any reason pursuant to the provisions of Section 1-3-240, and the reason for the termination must be communicated to each member of the council.

Advisory Council on Aging Council Members

Area 1 – (Appalachia) Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens and Spartanburg
Mary Heatherly 

Area 2 – (Upper Savannah) Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick and Saluda
Belinda Dorn Turner 

Area 3 – (Catawba) Chester, Lancaster, York and Union
Oscar L. Jones

Area 4 – (Central Midlands) Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry and Richland
Dr. Jim Bouknight

Area 5 – (Lower Savannah) Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun and Orangeburg
Janie Cooper-Smith

Area 6 (Santee Lynches) Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee and Sumter
Moye Graham

Area 7 (Pee Dee) Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion and Marlboro
Dr. Mary Tepper

Area 8 – (Waccamaw) Georgetown, Horry and Williamsburg
Mary Henry, Chairperson 

Area 9 (Trident) – Berkeley, Charleston and Dorchester

Area 10 (Lowcountry) – Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper
Sharon Morris

At- Large, Seat 1 – The Reverend Stan Means

At- Large, Seat 2 Vacant

At- Large, Seat 3 – Carl Hust

At- Large, Seat 4 – Mark M. Smith

At- Large, Seat 5 – Arthur Fusco


Minutes from Meetings

Aging Advisory Council Minutes for March 18, 2009

Aging Advisory Council Minutes for December 3, 2012

Aging Advisory Council Minutes for March 6, 2013


  • 1301 Gervais Street, Suite 350, Columbia, SC 29201
  • Local: (803) 734-9900
  • Toll Free: 1-800-868-9095